April Book Club read: Unspeakable Things by Jess Lourey

I would give this book a 3.5, due to a peculiar feeling of something missing and not related to the abductions in the story. This book was really like its cover, cloudy yet hiding some colours beneath the horizon, creepy and a bit crazy at times. A well built plot, with multiple possibilities.

Cassie and her family were unconventional and insane for my taste. so many faces and fears, childhood traumas and those party experiences. What kid should witness such!? Out of the ordinary and promising something major for the second part of the book.. or not.. So that I will not disclose at all, because I want you to read this book nevertheless. If you pick up this book you will get engrossed and engaged into the plot with all its intricacies.

School and Cassie’s relationships to her colleagues, her imaginary love or infatuation. This part is such an innocent fantasy of a summer spent beautifully. Yet who would believe what summer can bring in this book. For sure not the innocent dream of Cassie. Instead, she is becoming a wannabe detective and uncovers the abductor and her father’s love. Oh Cassie, poor poor Cassie! I rooted for her all along and still this book brought a bit of an unexpected denouement.

Many thanks to my Instagram Book Club buddies for reading this book together in May. I probably wouldn’t have picked this read otherwise. I am glad I did and I promise you will get something out of it.. if only due to its weird psychological side.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.