As Bright as Heaven by Susan Meissner

Beautifully written family drama during the 1918 pandemic

This book is a thoroughly researched fictional account of a family drama, during the 1918 Spanish flu pandemic. It has a really well written plot, with complex situations that bring out moral questions and motivations. This book is about major life decisions and love lasting ideals, real love vs the idea of love and the entwined family life in a large family.

The characters are well rounded and their developmemt is quite spectacular. The three sisters are really blossoming during their youth and become accomplished young ladies, despite the psychological traumas they each carry with themselves.

I loved this book to the core, the way it made me question current events and the way it made me feel. It is a super addictive read and it sticks to you. I have been reflecting on it for a few days already and I still have it fresh in my mind. Highly recommended to fans of historical fiction and family dramas.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.